Creative Update
Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 1.54.39 PM

Creative Update 130

Post by Megan Benson
Tucker, GA

Back in my oblivious college days, I never pictured myself as someone who would be working in a cubicle. I always imagined my job would be mobile, possibly sitting in an open, colorful room – a room where one could easily be inspired.

Being in the corporate world, however, is a bit different than I imagined it to be at that time. There is an abundance of gray, beige and white from the walls and cubicles to the comforting sounds of the “white-noise” generator. It’s all in an effort to remain neutral, of course – a grand effort to keep employees from being distracted by their own imaginations.

At least, that’s how I used to feel about it.

After countless hours of staring at the small square pattern of the cubicle’s padding, I realized something – these beiges and grays don’t have to act as deterrent to a creative work environment. In fact, they can act as a palette. Our cubicles are meant to be the canvas on which we express our individualism, quirks and darn near anything we find delightful.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 1.54.25 PM

In the past year, I have slowly added small, colorful decorations to my workspace, including paraphernalia for my favorite sports teams – the Braves and Falcons (have mercy on my soul); movies; and television shows. I have at least partially decorated my cubicle for three holidays, including Halloween, Christmas and Valentine’s Day. All of these decorations have served to create an atmosphere that is meant to stimulate me, increase my productivity and undoubtedly cheer me up if I’m having a bad day.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 1.54.39 PM

All of this is not to say that you simply must rush out and buy a salt rock lamp or Braves tomahawk to put on your desk like I have done, but rather that you should embrace your space and add a personal touch that will make you happy when you’re dealing with a stressful project.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 1.54.48 PM

This entry was published on December 5, 2014 at 9:56 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

