Creative Update
IMG_0047

Creative Update 124 – Beyond Doers

Post By Jason Han

There’s a lot of talent around me and I was curious to know more. I asked a few people to share how they continue to be creative outside of YP. Whether it’s the love of painting, designing, baking, shooting photos, or business – it’s all creative, inspiring, and i’m inclined to hear about it.

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Armando Renteria

What inspired you to start painting ?

I have always been drawing and painting since I was about 6 years old. I have been selling and working on commissioned art pieces since I was 17 years old.

Is there kind of a story behind the name of your business?

No its just my name and I added artist.

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

I do it because its fun for me and people enjoy my pieces.

Where could people find your Information about your products/services?

www.armandoartist.com

What are some future plans for your art?

Looking to be represented by a respected LA gallery.

What’s on the menu for Halloween this year?

Face painting the kids and trick or treat until the little one stops running.

Reflections

Reflections

Indio

Indio

Leading

Leading

Royal Mask

Royal Mask

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Adrienne Robinson

What inspired you to start Tears of Joy Events (Wedding/Event Planning)?

Have been planning events for friends for years and it’s my passion

 Is there kind of a story behind the name of your business?

The story behind the name of my business is when anyone cries when they see their event or wedding brought to life. It’s a Tears Of Joy event

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

We plan any event. Engagements, anniversary parties, birthday, baby showers, romantic getaways, and weddings

Where could people find your Information about your products/services?

Our website is under construction.

Website: www.tearsofjoyevents.com
Instagram: @tearsofjoyevents
Facebook: www.facebook.com/tearsofjoyevents
Twitter: @tojevents

What are some future plans for Tears Of Joy Events?

Future plans for Tears Of Joy Events is to provide our services to Sickle Cell Anemia warriors who can’t afford to have a wedding or event of their dreams due to their illness.

What’s on the menu for Halloween this year?

Nothing this year

Tears Of Joy Events

Tears Of Joy Events

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Renee Lee

What inspires your ideas?

Inspiration comes through my interaction with others. I love the satisfaction that comes with hearing someone tell me about a gift they want to give and then coming up with fresh ideas that help me create that gift for that person to give.

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

I work with a busy, working clientele, so am inspired to provide a gifting service that makes it convenient and affordable for people – co-workers, friends, and family – to give gifts that are unique and individualistic. To that end, I have created a new page for my website which showcases gifts under $25.00 (http://www.ideasbyrenee.com/#!shop/c20c3).

Are you only creating gift baskets?

Designing baskets was the start of my gift creations. The all-in-one basket with a variety of gifts became a popular request very quickly! Many more ideas followed … and are following … ideas are endless. My goal is to make gifts that are different, beautiful, and memorable!

Why is gift giving important to you?

When I create gifts with others in mind, taking into account what would delight and surprise the recipient, it makes the gift special and allows me to help the giver feel good about giving this gift. Many people do not have the time or creative talent to

What are your future plans?

I plan to continue to organizing periodic social gatherings (Life’s a Treat Socials) that bring people together to meet, share ideas, network, and have fun. (I have found that fun and a few laughs add fuel to creative endeavors.) My next Life’s a Treat Social will be for the upcoming holidays: “20 Days ‘til Xmas“.

Where could people find information about your products/services?

http://www.ideasbyrenee.com
http://www.lifesatreatsocial.com/

image004

image006.jpg

image005.jpg

Gifts Under $25


––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

What inspired you to start Fat Bird?

My friend and coworker at YP, Rosa Ventura and I started baking for fun 5 years ago, bringing in treats to work for birthdays and events. We were roommates at the time and it began as nothing but a fun hobby for us, but with the support and encouragement from our coworkers at YP we were eventually able to start our business as Fat Bird Bakery. We have been doing very well after officially starting our business and our listings on YP and Yelp. We now get more orders than we can handle, so we are working very hard towards opening a physical location.

Is there kind of a story behind the name of your business?

I wish there was a better story behind our name, but while we were discussing our branding and style it came to us and we both immediately loved it.

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

All our cakes are custom orders, and we make everything from scratch.

Where could people find your Information about your products/services?

http://www.fatbirdbakery.com

What are some future plans for Fat Bird?

We want to expand from doing only custom orders to having a walk-in storefront.

What’s on the menu for Halloween this year?

55 Downing Street used our cakes, cupcakes, cookies, and chocolates for their Halloween photo shoot this year, which you can see on their home page http://www.55downingstreet.com/

 logo1

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Cristina Munoz

What inspired you to start 1886 Modern Man ?

…my love of fashion…my love for creativity and making something by hand.

Is there kind of a story behind the name of your business?

The enduring popularity of the black bow tie dates to 1886. The bow tie became synonymous with evening formal wear as the only proper compliment to a tuxedo.1886modernman.com is dedicated to the revival of this classic, fashionable staple in men’s fashion that’s lasted through centuries.

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

All the bow ties are hand made by myself! I love heading off to fabric stores and selecting material for my bow ties and skinny ties.

Where could people find your Information about your products/services?

www.1886modernman.com

What are some future plans for 1886 Modern Man ?

Future plans…hmmm…devote more time to making fabulous bow ties…also, get into making bow ties suited for kids and toddlers. Even though I love the fact that my bow ties need to be tied by the person, I have ventured into the realm of creating pre-tied bow ties.

What’s on the menu for Halloween this year?

More bow ties and getting my skinny ties on the site. =)bow

1886mm1 1886mm2 1886mm3 1886mm4 1886mm5

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Jason Han

What inspired you to start cache & cookies?

The people and companies that I like have inspired me to start my own little side project.

Is there kind of a story behind the name of your business?

Due to updates to platform updates at work we would always have to clear ‘cache & cookies’ from our browsers to fix it. I think there was this period of time where we had several updates within a week. You could just hear us often saying “hey it’s not working.” then someone would say “hey! did you clear your cache & cookies? – it’s working for me.” The words ‘cache & cookies’ had a catch to it. It was was easy to say and decided to make it a name for my side project.

Eventually I came up with a meaning for it. You can read it here: www.cacheandcookies.com

What are some special details that you would like people to know about your business or service?

It’s just a little side project that gives me a creative outlet to do what I want with my art. It’s also to promote the fact that everyone is creative.

Where could people find your Information about your products/services?

www.cacheandcookies.com

What are some future plans for cache & cookies?

I can’t tell. It’s the best kept secret. JK.

In the future I definitely want to come out with my products and tons of collaboration work with other artists I like. We’ll see what the future holds.

What’s on the menu for Halloween this year?

Party time. yeah.

928340_316206938552943_1174693246_a10413131_658890517520278_640325504_n10665366_368911503261218_1977691633_n

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

REMINDER! 

Please give me your submissions for the halloween post-it by next thursday – end of day if you plan to particiate. Thank you!

10683788_444517642355836_1336652089_a

This entry was published on October 24, 2014 at 6:57 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

