Creative Update
Croche

Creative Update 111

Post & Graphics by Miecha Jackson

Bridge the Gap Between Generations:
Sharing a Common Language through Needlecraft

No matter how many different languages and dialects are spoken throughout the world, I have discovered a common language in the arts. My resident manager, a woman named Patrice Everson, taught me how to crochet 11 years ago when she came to visit me one day at my apartment. As we sat and talked I noticed that she was creating a baby blanket. At that time, my sister was pregnant with her first girl and I was an undergraduate living in Savannah Ga. on a miniscule budget. I knew my sister’s baby shower was approaching and I was determined to present something special for my first niece.

CU_image.jpg
Out of curiosity I asked Patrice how to crochet. She simply replied, “If you can count, you can crochet”. Piece of cake I thought. She began to demonstrate the crochet technique and began to speak a different language by using terms such as ‘yarn over’, double crochet’, chain, granny square, loops, insert, etc. Not wanting her to see the expression of total confusion on my face, I asked questions and asked her to repeat the steps a couple times. After completing a couple rows to ensure that I understood how the pattern repeated, she handed me the Afghan and crochet hook. I dove in, making my first splash with double crochet stitches. I was amazed that I picked up the craft without having to go through a rigorous class to create something so beautiful. Of course the stitches were not uniform to the previous pattern but I managed to understand the language by implementing the movements with the yarn and crochet hook she demonstrated earlier.

Patrice also reassured me that if I practiced I would hone my craft and create great works. She also gave me my first crochet hook; size K. I was stoked! I could not believe I learned how to crochet in less than 30 minutes. I gladly took the hook and made a trip the local arts & craft shop in town. I still have my first needle and pay it forward, passing on the tradition of learning by giving the student the needle and yarn from the first lesson.

Hearing Patrice reiterate the jargon associated with the craft created a special bond between us. At that moment I realized that if I could not relate with anything else we spoke about or who, crocheting had bridged a communication gap by sharing a common language of crochet.

Crochet Afghan Images:
CrocheVIEW 1

VIEW 2

This entry was published on July 25, 2014 at 6:42 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

