Creative Update
Silverlake Spin

Creative Update 53 – Spinning class AKA Indoor cycling!

Spinning class AKA Indoor cycling!

Spinning Class

Hey there! My name is Cynthia Castañeda I manage Customer Support here in the Glendale Office of YP. I wanted to share a great experience with you creative types. I believe that good cardio workouts boost blood flow and oxygen to the brain, and thus help everything including your creative juices. And in this case spinning!
Spinning helps towards creativity. I assure you. Maybe it’s a time where you are feeling sad/mad/discouraged because you have sat all day and/or night staring at the wall, experiencing a creative block of some sort. When you get on that bike, increase the resistance, hear the music, begin to sweat out all the toxins your spirits are lifted. Writers, artists, senior executive professionals use exercise to solve creative blocks to make better decisions. Exercise boosts creative thinking. Consistently exercising, if its spinning, running, or just taking a brisk walk with your dog, allows me to develop a positive addiction. Spinning & running sometimes replaces my urges for cookie, alcohol or just plain eating too much. When you are healthier, you’re happier and likely more creative and inspired.

The most fun you will have on a bicycle (even though it’s a stationary).

Silverlake

In an effort to walk around my area more and discontinue to pay the $10 frozen fee at my gym (I froze it earlier last year when I was training for a half marathon) I decided to try out a local spinning studio called YAS Silverlake. I passed by the YAS studio many times on morning route to Glendale for work. The exterior building is green with an accordion like fish bowl looking window. I would always see folks exercising like crazy and would tell myself I need to jump on that bandwagon. So I went on the site from work one day (during my lunch hour of course) and saw that they had a promotion “first ride is free.”
First Ride FreeSo on my way back home I parked, walked in and spoke to a ‘too cool to be here’ front desk dude that guided me on which instructors played what type of music, which instructor was popular. I went back 2 weeks later ready to rock out in a spin class. The instructor kindly showed me how to fit my bike to make the class most useful and comfortable. Well I took a gentleman named Tim’s class. It was super fun, energetic, full of sweat, and filled with lots of woo’s woo’s woo’s coming from instructor. The next morning being a Sunday I took Tracy’s class. She had great music that motivated me to continue taking her classes regularly and join! She pushes you to work physically and mentally. It’s super cute that during class she sings along. What I like about YAS Silverlake is that they have classes to facilitate all work schedules. Spinning Class

WEAR: Wear clothes that are quick dry and comfortable tennis shoes. A tank or halter top is great. For bottoms, the very last thing you should wear is baggy pants. So uncomfortable. Wear some leggings or nicely fitted pants. I prefer my work out gear to have polyester or Lycra. This way you can soak up the sweat. Your sneakers should have some pretty good arch bearing and some cushioning, because you will strap in on the bike so not to fall off. Ha!

BRING: Bring a huge bottle of water & a sweat towel (I bring two as I like to have one rest on the bike handle and use the other to wipe off my face, arms and neck).

TIPS: If its your first time arrive a few minutes early so the instructor can assist you with adjusting your bike. Always make sure your breathing, have a good pace and monitor your intensity. Spinning is great for all fitness levels. You can go at your own pace and figure out the best resistance.  Before you check out and determine that spinning is not for your, I recommend to take a few different instructors. All of the instructors have different styles and music that is geared towards the workout. At the beginning of class after you’ve been fitted it’s a great time to stretch your arms, and back, in an effort to prep for the next 50 minutes. In my experience, a class will include long & short sprints, hills, jumps & sometimes pushups from the handle.

If you are not feeling the first class, please do not be turned off. Schedule another class with a different teacher. BTW, it may take a few classes before you get used to the hard seat. My gf complained about some bottom pain after her first class, so its normal folks. Please give it a few classes before you decide that spinning is not your cup of tea.

Silverlake location

www.go2yas.com
http://www.yelp.com/biz/yas-silverlake-los-angeles

Best,
Cynthia Castañeda

This entry was published on May 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

